Julian Fisher

Policy Consultant

Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Aßmannshauser Straße 4-6
14197 Berlin

Campus / internal address:
Haus 2, 2. OG, Zimmer 2.2.38

You are here:

Page contents

Vita Julian Fisher

Dentist and senior policy advisor and analyst with validated expertise in health workforce education, social and environmental determinants of health, health policy, advocacy and global oral health. 

Julian has over two decades of experience working with international organizations including the FDI, WHO, UNESCO & UNEP as well as governmental and industry stakeholders as a private consultant. Over the course of his career, he has balanced the advancement of initiativesto improve the oral health of populations worldwide with environmental causes and projects aimed at impacting the social determinants of health. His work has helped to place oral health in the NCD agenda worldwide as well as supporting governments worldwide implementing policies to increase access and quality in different income settings.

As a research Assistant Professor (SUNY Upstate Medical University, New York, USA) he has been certified as United Nations CC:Learn / UNITAR / EduCCate Global climate change educator. He was awarded United Nations Systems Staff College certificate for policy coherence for sustainable development (2020) and combined clinical education of health workforce at under and post-graduate level.

In 2020 he joined the department with the goal of coordinating efforts between different stakeholders to strengthen and expand the data gathered on oral health to improve evidence-based decision making in dentistry and to make it more accessible, secure and effective worldwide.

Currently, he leads department work on translating policy to practice for oral health and sustainable development  and is helping to establish the Charité Partnership Database which will actively contribute to WHO UNEP efforts to accelerate early implementation of the phase down of the use of dental amalgam to achieve socio-economic, environmental and public health benefits at global and national levels.




Networking

Julian Fisher

Policy Consultant

Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Aßmannshauser Straße 4-6
14197 Berlin

Campus- bzw. interne Geländeadresse:
Haus 2, 2. OG, Zimmer 2.2.38

Sie befinden sich hier:

Inhaltsübersicht

Lebenslauf Julian Fisher

Zahnarzt und Policy Consultant mit langjähriger Kompetenz und Erfahrung in den Bereichen nachhaltige Entwicklung, soziale Determinanten von Gesundheit, Gesundheitspolitik, Interessenvertretung und Global Health.

Julian verfügt über mehr als zwei Jahrzehnte Erfahrung in der Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Organisationen wie WHO, UNESCO ,UNEP und FDI sowie mit Regierungs- und Industrievertretern. Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat er die Förderung von Initiativen zur Verbesserung der Mundgesundheit der Bevölkerungen weltweit mit umweltbedingten Ursachen und Projekten zur Beeinflussung der sozialen Determinanten von Gesundheit in Einklang gebracht. Seine Arbeit hat dazu beigetragen, die Sichtbarkeit von Mundgesundheit als relevantes Feld zu stärken und Regierungen weltweit bei der Umsetzung von Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung des Zugangs zu und der Qualität von Mundgesundheitsversorgungen zu unterstützen.

Als Assistenzprofessor (SUNY Upstate Medical University, New York, USA) ist er aktiv im web-based Unterricht an Universitäten zum Thema nachhaltige Entwicklung und Public Health. Er erhielt das Zertifikat des United Nations Systems Staff College für nachhaltige Entwicklung (2020), genehmigt WHO Health in All Policies Trainer und lehrt in curricularen und postgradualen Veranstaltungen und Schulen.

Im Jahr 2020 trat er der Abteilung bei und unterstützt die Generierung belastbarer Daten zur Mundgesundheit, um evidenzbasierte Entscheidungen in der Zahnmedizin zu verbessern und sie weltweit zugänglicher, sicherer und effektiver zu machen. Weiterhin koordiniert er die  Einrichtung der „Charité Oral Health database“, die aktiv zu den Bemühungen von WHO UNEP beitragen wird, den phase down von Dentalamalgam erfolgreich umsetzen.




Vernetzung